Film Dignitaries to Fete Convicted Pedophile

I have what you may call, liberal elitist values. I’m from New England, I’m a registered Democrat (for the time being), I wear pink polo shirts, have been to a Dave Matthews concert and even own a pair of boat shoes. I’m an atheist. I privately agree with most of the liberal nonsense that actors and directors and other industry flacks put out on a regular basis. That said, there’s one bit of Hollywood that I can’t stomach under any circumstances. The continuing worship of Roman Polanski. But then again, I’ve never raped a 13-year old girl, so what do I know?

Roman Polanski, who was placed under house arrest by Switzerland when he came to attend the Zurich Film Festival in 2009, is returning to the festival this year to accept a lifetime achievement award. According to an announcement, Polanski will not be doing interviews during the festival but will be going. Festival organizers also will not speak about the legal case. Last time, Polanski never made it to the festival, arrested at the airport and taken into provisional custody. Swiss authorities eventually freed him and declined an extradition request from the United States, where Polanski skipped out on a conviction for engaging in a sex act with an underage girl in 1978.

Oh boo hoo, I won’t be doing interviews because I don’t want you asking me about the time I raped that girl and then fled the country to avoid jail time. Roman Polanski should be in jail, and I don’t care what a great director he is. The soft pedaling even in this story amkes me kinda sick. Roman Polanski didn’t just engage in a sex act, he gave a 13 year old quaaludes and then sodomized her. But I guess that doesn’t qualify as “rape rape.” For the record, I like those films of Polanski’s that I have seen, Rosemary’s Baby and Blue, that doesn’t change the fact that he’s a criminal. Only in France could rape be excused because a guy made a movie you liked once.

I now return you to your regularly scheduled fart jokes.

Posted on September 15, 2011, in Douchebags, Serious Topics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

