Weekend Preview: Some Good, Some Bad, Some Meh

It’s the weekend! And the first week of the NFL season! That enough is reason to be excited. Only adding to that anticipation is the fact that with summer in the rearview (sad I know) we can actually look forward to some quality programming, both in theaters and on the tube. So what’s on tap for this weekend? Read on bored, lonely internet resident:

Movies

Contagion: A super disease runs amok as CDC bureaucrats attempt to curtail it.

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 81%

Uninformed Commentary: Greg Easterbrook says that there’s no such thing as a super disease. Personally, I prefer it when plagues come from monkeys, it’s much funnier that way. That said, I generally like Soderbergh movies and Gweneth Paltrow’s head gets sawed open so that’s reason enough to watch right there.

Warrior: Two estranged brothers face off in an MMA competition, each with his own reason for wanting to win.

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 83%

Uninformed Commentary: I’m not a huge MMA fan because it always seems to devolve into two dudes humping each other, but this looks good. Also, Nick Nolte!  I would watch Double-N do his gardening, mostly because he’d probably be hammered while he did it and that’s amusing to me.

Bucky Larsen: Born to Be a Star: Another Adam Sandler comedy designed to make you feel unclean and hate yourself. Nick Swardson goes full retard (why Nick? Why????)

Rotten Tomatoes Score: No score, but everyone hates this, just accept it.

Uninformed Commentary: I’ve made my feelings clear in the past, but I’ll say it again. Adam Sandler is just insulting us all for kicks at this point. He needs to be stopped.

TeeVee:

Breaking Bad: Last week’s episode was epic. I needed to step back for a couple of days just to digest it all. Here’s the promo for this week:

New Girl: This technically doesn’t premiere until the 20th, but the pilot is available on iTunes. My analysis? Zooey Deschanel is pretty. Also, this has some potential to be good, but could also get annoying really fast. I’ll reevaluate after about three episodes.

Whitney: This also doesn’t premiere until next Wednesday. I just want you to know that this show’s existence upsets me. If you watch it, we can no longer be friends. Sorry.

Sports:

Football: You will wake up on Saturday go to a tailgate or your favorite sports bar and watch this all day while eating nachos, pizza, burgers, hot dogs, and/or buffalo wings. You will wake up Sunday, rinse and repeat. I’ll be doing joint picks with my friend Ryan all NFL season, you can find our Week 1 picks here.

The best college games this weekend look like Alabama @ Penn St and UGA @ South Carolina. Basically, this weekend is really uninteresting. My alma mater, Boston College, is playing at UCF, and they will probably lose.

Life:

This Sunday marks the tenth anniversary of 9/11. I think that we all have a pretty vivid memory of where we were on that day and how we felt. I personally was in a ninth grade English class and my initial reaction was a mix of disbelief and confusion, followed later by sadness and anger. Whether or not you watch any tributes this weekend, take a little time to thank any service members or policemen and firemen you know. It’s important to recognize their contributions.

Enjoy your weekend!

Posted on September 9, 2011, in College Football, Crappy Movies, Crappy TV shows, NFL, Quality Programming, Serious Topics, Weekend Preview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

